top of page

TONY SCARPA

THE BLOG PAGE

Search

The Maze

Updated: Feb 2, 2019

first came the sound the sizzle and crackle

awake and aware

the sensation cool and damp

musty and over ripe scent

wearing just a thin white t-shirt and jeans, feet bare and exposed

feeling the texture of the ground

rough, course sharp

through numbing toes

the soles tell tales of pain

the shifting clouds reveal a moon huge and full

but the illumination does not remain

the billowing clouds flash the light and then return the darkness

the chill passes over my arms and i shiver

goosebumps raise on exposed skin

i reach out in the flickering light and feel it

inches away from my breath the wall of thick growth

the rustle of the wall itself tells me that it is a living thing

i step forward and it tears at my hands

i pull back

i stretch to the left and there is no barrier

i turn towards the false reality of path, freedom

waving my hands frantically in the semi darkness and step towards the left

my foot screams to my mind of sharpness

the exposed warmth of my blood

cools quickly in the damp night

i cry out

the rustle of the wall answers back

why am i here? races to flood my thoughts

sensations over power even the smallest question

pushing forward into what appears to be openness

only to feel the sharpness at my fingertips

the wall is there again

try to turn

my head screams to my pounding heart

i swing my body around and reach out towards the new direction

there is open air

i place my hands to the ground before i step

the tangled roots and stalks litter the terrain

i push some away before i step

keenly aware

i do not wish to cut my foot yet again

but it is no use the daggers of stalks slice open my finger

my heart is pulsating and i have yet to step forward

the flicker of moonlight

shows a path is now before me

tentatively i move forward and feel the slicing of my feet

there is no other option

i continue to step upon the wicked sensation

akin to barbed wire

tearing at my exposed skin

shivering in the night

the thought enters my head

stay here do not move the night will pass

daylight will provide the safety to escape

this level of hell not written by Dante

yet crafted by his own visions of Hades

fear is overwhelming

pushing clarity and sense aside

move damn it

do not remain stuck

my trembling body screams to me

get out

find safety and security

remembering my warm bed so soft and enveloping

wake from this nightmare

i can not be in a nightmare the pain is too real

the blood too real

the cold too real

why?

i scream silently again

why am in this evil dwelling

what have i done?

or failed to do to deserve this torture

g-d please help me

i shout to my own heart beat

fearing the noise might awaken another layer of hell

i push forward with both hands

silently screaming each second

the moon now clear in the black velvet over head

i see that i can move forward and there is a path

stepping gingerly

each foot fall

more tearing, more blood

but not a sound can i utter

the light of the now exposed moon

allows me to see the walls are taller than i

blacker than the night above me

they surround me on all sides

what can i do?

thoughts race, run but into painful walls?

stand still and wait till morning for light to open the path

each step is horrifying pain

each new wall before me fear and frustration

each second is an eternity

i pray for guidance

silence and the harsh wind my only response

how did i end up here?

why?

this is just another obstacle of my life

systematic of all that has been wrong

why do i have to suffer so?

i am a good person and strive to do better

yet here i am in this nightmare that is all too real

i used to wonder if you feel pain in a nightmare

now i know

if i just can trust my intuition

let my mind hear the directions

less thinking

more feeling

open my heart that there is a way

out

all i need is breathe

and i will get out

of this




tony scarpa

it is just a maze in daylight safe at night terror




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page